Joint Transportation Review Committee

SENATOR LAWRENCE K. GROOMS
Chairman

REPRESENTATIVE JAMES H. LUCAS Vice Chairman

SENATOR HUGH K. LEATHERMAN, SR. SENATOR CHAUNCEY K. GREGORY SENATOR HARVEY S. PEELER SENATOR GERALD MALLOY REPRESENTATIVE DEBORAH A. LONG REPRESENTATIVE PHILLIP D. OWENS MR. REID BANKS MR. PATTERSON SMITH



POST OFFICE BOX 142 COLUMBIA. SOUTH CAROLINA 29202-0142 (803) 212-6400 DAVID J. OWENS

KENNETH M. MOFFITT CHIEF COUNSEL

RICHARD P. FULMER

LILY COGDILL

CONTACT: David Owens - 803-212-6402

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE -- October 5, 2012

Deadline Nears to File for SCDOT Commission Seats

COLUMBIA -- Residents interested in applying for a seat on the South Carolina Department of Transportation Commission have just one week left to file. The Joint Transportation Review Committee (JTRC) will receive notices of intent from residents living in South Carolina's new 2nd and 7th Congressional districts until 12:00 p.m. on Friday, October 12, 2012.

Applicants must reside in the district, meet statutorily-prescribed eligibility requirements and possess certain qualifications in order to serve. Applicants will undergo a review process that includes a South Carolina Law Enforcement Division background check, a credit check, completion of a comprehensive personal data questionnaire and a financial disclosure, and completion of a South Carolina Ethics Commission Statement of Economic Interests form. This screening process also includes an investigation, interview, and a public screening by the ten-member JTRC and its staff.

Individuals found qualified then stand for election by those members of the General Assembly who reside in the 2^{nd} and 7^{th} Congressional districts.

Prospective candidates living in South Carolina's newly-drawn 2nd and 7th Congressional districts must notify the Joint Transportation Review Committee in writing of their intent to apply. The letter must include the individual's: 1) original signature, 2) county of residence, 3) physical home address, 4) email address, and 5) daytime phone number.

Notice of intent will not be accepted after 12:00 p.m. on Friday, October 12, 2012.

Notice of intent and questions related to the screening process should be directed to:

Joint Transportation Review Committee Attn: David Owens P.O. Box 142 Columbia, S.C. 29202 803-212-6402

More information is available at www.scstatehouse.gov under 'Committee Information', then 'Joint Transportation Review Committee'.